Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Build Your Own Zoetrope

Build Your Own Zoetrope

2024-04-25 16:00:00 2024-04-25 17:00:00 America/New_York Build Your Own Zoetrope The Plain City Public Library - Crash Cart

Thursday, April 25
4:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2024-04-25 16:00:00 2024-04-25 17:00:00 America/New_York Build Your Own Zoetrope Learn about the science of animation and optical illusions by creating your own animated toy! The Plain City Public Library - Crash Cart

Learn about the science of animation and optical illusions by creating your own animated toy!

What is a zoetrope? It's essentially a flip book on a wheel! This vintage toy features the still frames of an animation on the inside of a cylinder with vertical slits on the outside that allow you to see the animation move as the toy spins.

Drop in to the library to create a zoetrope of your own. We will have templates for you to use, or you can try creating an original animation. This fun and easy activity will teach you about early animation and the optical illusion that makes it appear as though the animation is moving.

AGE GROUP: | Youth | Teens | Preschool |

EVENT TYPE: | Science | For Makers | Arts & Crafts |

TAGS: | |

The Plain City Public Library

Phone: (614) 873-4912

Hours
Mon, May 20 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, May 21 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, May 22 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, May 23 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, May 24 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, May 25 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, May 26 Closed

About the library

Upcoming events

Thu, May 23, 7:00pm - 7:15pm

Sat, May 25, 10:00am - 11:30am
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Mon, May 27, All day

Wed, May 29, 10:30am - 11:00am
South Shelter

Thu, May 30, 10:30am - 11:30am
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Thu, May 30, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Workshop
This event is full

Thu, May 30, 7:00pm - 7:15pm

Sat, Jun 01, 11:00am - 1:00pm
Workshop

Mon, Jun 03, 10:30am - 11:00am
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Mon, Jun 03, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Jun 04, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Workshop

Wed, Jun 05, 10:30am - 11:00am
South Shelter

Thu, Jun 06, 10:30am - 11:30am
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Thu, Jun 06, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Basement

Thu, Jun 06, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Workshop

Mon, Jun 10, 10:30am - 11:00am
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Mon, Jun 10, 1:00pm - 1:45pm
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Tue, Jun 11, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Workshop

Wed, Jun 12, 10:30am - 11:00am
South Shelter

Thu, Jun 13, 10:30am - 11:30am
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Fri, Jun 14, All day

Fri, Jun 14, 10:30am - 11:30am
Workshop

Fri, Jun 14, 10:30am - 11:00am

Sat, Jun 15, 10:30am - 11:30am
Workshop

Mon, Jun 17, 10:30am - 11:00am
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Mon, Jun 17, 1:00pm - 1:45pm
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Mon, Jun 17, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Mon, Jun 17, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Event Space

Tue, Jun 18, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Youth Building

Wed, Jun 19, 10:30am - 11:00am
South Shelter

Wed, Jun 19, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop
Registration opens Wednesday, June 5 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 20, 10:30am - 11:30am
Jane Taylor Storytime Room

Thu, Jun 20, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Workshop